Pumpkin cake roll dessert…

Oh my gosh this is the easiest recipe! The major grocery store yesterday (I always shop on Wednesdays) had Angel Food Cake on Sale in the Bakery – BOGO (Buy one get one free) so I grabbed two (it was a great special) $2.99 for 2 or $1.50 a piece (cheap!). I can’t make them that economical. I had a large can of Pumpkin pie filling (22 ounce) and I always buy 2-3 cool whip tubs each week. So, I cut the Angel Food Cake in half horizontally (yes, both of them-I have a big family to feed). In a mixing bowl I added the pumpkin pie pilling, tub of one cool whip, 1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, a few pinches of nutmeg, 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder stirred it up well. I used an offset spatula and loaded the filling into the center of each half. Angel food cake is very pliable. I laid it on top of clear plastic wrap (once filled). I then rolled it up with the help of the plastic wrap. Twisted the ends and placed on a plate in the Refrigerator to chill until supper. The second one I use Cherry Pie filling, tub of cool whip, dash of almond extract and stirred and filled the second one. Use the same procedure to roll it up and placed it in the refrigerator to chill.

The family had a hard time choosing which one but the pumpkin won out! So be it. I froze the Cherry Filing one for another time. If freezing double wrap and place in freezer safe zip-lock bags (I always use two freezer safe bags!).

In closing, I wish you “Good Health” cheffie cooks easy 1-2-3. Until my next post to YOU on Saturday; keep a look out for some Angel Cake it just may be on sale and you might enjoy making this super easy, fun dessert!

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin cake roll dessert…

Leave a Reply

