Slow Cooker Chicken and Herbs

WIN_20160302_17_19_07_Pro (2)

Pick up your favorite chicken whether it is thighs, legs, breasts. Season with salt, pepper, and place in the slow cooker on low. Add Chicken broth (I use 1-1/2 cups), add one onion cut into quarters, one bay leaf, fresh parsley (if available to you) fresh thyme (If available) Fresh Rosemary (if available to you), cover with lid and let it cook while you are at work, school, wherever.

When you get home the chicken will be super delicious and tender. You may like a side dish of rice, a salad, vegetable. I use my slow cooker at least 3 times a week for a multitude of recipes. My ovens are usually my number one and I love making skillet baked dishes in the oven.

As you know I do not fry many foods it is not my favorite way to prepare meals. Anything fried can and will be baked!!! We as a society eat too many things fried and there will no doubt be medical issues down the road from that-check with your health care professional! I also do not use the microwave too much. If I need to softened for example butter I will use it, melt semi sweet chocolate morsels for a baking dish I am preparing. Heating Hot water for a cup of Tea. Many people use the microwave to make baked potatoes, and/or complete meals. If that is your preference that’s fine I just want you to know there are other options!

In closing, I wish you Good Health.

cheffie cooks easy 1-2-3.

See YOU soon!

15 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Chicken and Herbs

  1. Love a good slow cooked meal Cheryl. I like to pan saute or fry but hardly ever deep fat fry. Like you my oven is number one although I do from time to time use my microwave to soften things or heat things up. One day I will break down and buy a slow cooker.

    Like

  2. I just LOVE my slow cooker! And my pressure cooker. And my cast iron skillets! And I also just love slow-cooked chicken, any way it’s done. With herbs is perfect for a large amount of chicken because then you can use it in so many dishes, right? Salads, casseroles, etc. Luffs ya’ CCC! xoxoxoxo!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kentucky Angel says:

    You have a philosophy after my own heart Cuz. Almost everything I cook is done in my slow cooker now, or I should say, one of my slow cookers. I have 3 of them, and at times all 3 are used at the same time to stock my freezer and fridge. And thank the good Lord I do this, or I wouldn’t have survived the past few weeks when I couldn’t move parts of my bod. I had my freezer stocked with food that was good to eat, and good for me at the same time. Second fave is the bread machine, cause I can also keep the fresh bread frozen in slices, one sandwich at a time. Plus my sweet breakfast breads, and focaccia for the pasta meals. Don’t even need the stove now, except to heat water in my teakettle.
    Hugs, Angie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

